Derek Brown

Derek Brown, Scotland UK

Hi,

new to the forum, 

I have had the pleasure of working in various industries and now I find myself in the petrochemical sector. 

My current role is a Mechanical Asset Engineer, so I have taken a keen interest in Reliability and Maintenance.

Hi Eric,

I am upstream, looking after a plant using propylene to make plastics.

I studied Maintenance and reliability at university after being on the tools for a number of years and I was amazed how much I didn’t know. For instance, maintenance is taught as a science, statistics, machine failure modes, the physics of how machines operate and more importantly how they degrade and fail. So sites such as yours instantly peaked my interest.

Are there any certification for reliability practitioners that you can recommend?

Thanks

Derek

That's a great personal development path @Derek Brown

I always recommend the CMRP certification which is run by the Society of Maintenance & Reliability professionals, mainly because it is the most widely recognised certification. Have a look here: https://smrp.org/Certification/CMRP-Certification

To get certified as a CMRP you need to successfully pass the exam. And the exam is supposed to be based on your experience rather than just a knowledge based exam that you can study for.

That said, I would suggest you start by reading the following books that are on the SMRP list of recommended books:

Maintenance Planning & Scheduling Handbook by Doc Palmer
The Toyota Way by Jeffery Liker
Maintenance & Reliability Best Practices by Ramesh Gulatti
Making Common Sense Common Practice by Ron Moore
Reliability-Centered Maintenance by John Moubray

You can buy these second hand via amazon.com, abebooks.com or bookdepository.com which has free global shipping. Just hunt around and you can pick up a good second hand copy for not too much money.