Test ×

I am doing a research on the influnce of human intervention in faults. It is a quite a significant correlation between fault and human interaction during planned and unplanned maintenance. From the time I was a maintenance manager I remember it was common to implement the maintenance program the vendor suggested without much of questions. Then we did RCM and other analysis to improve and optimize the maintenance. But we (maintenance managers) had to agrue very hard to remove maintenance actions that we found unreasonable. The technicians who worked with the systems everyday had to argue even harder.  So in light of the facts that human intervention seems to cause that many faults, should we not start arguing why you should do maintenance, instead of why you should let it be? 

• Founder

Great topic @Fredrik Foss - I just recently bought the book "Managing Maintenance Error: A Practical Guide" by James Reason and Alan Hobbs to read up on the topic of human error and how it impacts maintenance. Winston Ledet already showed in his worked that up to 80% of failures are induced by human error. That said I don't we can stop doing maintenance, but we certainly should carefully review every maintenance task and see if it is worth the effort and whether it outweighs the risk of human error. And I don't think I have ever seen an OEM maintenance schedule that I would adopt without change.

The other thing is that human error also covers a multitude of sins that are not committed by frontline staff but by office-based staff when defining maintenance requirements or writing maintenance instructions. 

• 1 year later...

I would definitely agree with Erik that this is a topic worthy of more discussion. In the early 90s, as a maintenance manager, I had noticed the trend of so called repairs being associated to equipment setup or human errors. In this particular facility, it was the responsibility for the operators to setup equipment.